Nebula Award News

2018 (Presented 2019) Nebula Award® Winners

Awards Presented in 2019.

Best Novel winner: The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal, published by Tor

Best Novella winner: The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard, published by Subterranean Press

Best Novelette winner: “The Only Harmless Great Thing” by Brooke Bolander, published by

Best Short Story winner: “The Secret Lives of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington” by P. Djèlí Clark, published by Fireside Magazine

Ray Bradbury Award winner: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse written by Phil Lord and Rodney Rothman

Andre Norton Award winner: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi, published by Henry Holt and Macmillan UK

Best Game Writing winner: Black Mirror: Bandersnatch by Charlie Brooker, published by House of Tomorrow and Netflix

Solstice Award: Neil Clarke and Nisi Shawl

Kevin J. O’Donnell Jr. Service to SFWA Award: Lee Martindale

Damon Knight Grand Master: William Gibson

Complete details.

Book Depot consignment submissions closing

Reminder: The Book Depot is closing out consignment submissions by May 3rd. After that point we will not be able to stock anything further, as we have to import all the books and cover images into our catalog system and get it prepped for the Nebula Awards® conference weekend. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at . Thank you!

SFWA Announces 2019 Nebula Toastmaster — Bobak Ferdowsi

Bobak Ferdowsi Named SFWA Nebula Awards® Toastmaster

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA, Inc.) is pleased to announce that Bobak Ferdowsi has been named the toastmaster for the 54th annual Nebula Awards® on May 18th, 2019 in Woodland Hills, CA.

Ferdowsi has served as a systems engineer at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, working on the Mars Science Laboratory Curiosity mission and the Cassini–Huygens mission to Saturn. Following the Curiosity landing, Ferdowsi achieved fame for the mohawk he was seen wearing at JPL during media coverage of the successful landing. He is currently working on the NISAR joint Earth observation mission and the Europa Clipper mission scheduled for launch to the Jovian moon Europa in 2023.

The Nebula Awards® will be presented during the annual SFWA Nebula Conference, which will run from May 16th-19th and feature seminars and panel discussions on the craft and business of writing, SFWA’s annual business meeting, and receptions. On May 18th, a mass autograph session will take place at the Warner Center Marriott Woodland Hills and is open to the public.

The Nebula Awards®, presented annually, recognize the best works of science fiction and fantasy published in the United States as selected by members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, membership in which is open to professional science fiction and fantasy authors. The first Nebula Awards® were presented in 1966.

For more information please email