Nebula Award News

Gardner Dozois and Sheila Williams Named SFWA Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award Recipients

Gardner Dozois and Sheila Williams Named SFWA Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award Recipients

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) is pleased to announce that Gardner Dozois and Sheila Williams have been named the recipients of the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award to honor their editing careers in support of science fiction and fantasy.

The Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award is given by SFWA for distinguished contributions to the science fiction and fantasy community. Dozois and Williams join the ranks of previous Solstice Award winners, including Octavia E. Butler, James Tiptree, Jr., Tom Doherty, Carl Sagan, and Stanley Schmidt. The award will be presented at the 53rd Annual Nebula Conference in Pittsburgh, PA, May 17th-20th, 2018.

In addition to an honored career as a science fiction author, Gardner Dozois has edited science fiction since the 1970s. In 1977, he took over editing the Best Science Fiction of the Year series from Lester Del Rey, editing volumes 6-10 until 1981. He began editing a new series of The Year’s Best Science Fiction in 1984, and 2018 will see the release of the 35th annual volume of that series. From 1984 to 2004, he served as the editor of Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine. He has also co-edited anthologies with Jack Dann, George R.R. Martin, and Sheila Williams, among others.

Sheila Williams took over the helm of Asimov’s from Dozois in 2004 and is the magazine’s current editor. In addition to her work on the magazine, Williams has edited and co-edited numerous anthologies, sometimes in collaboration with Cynthia Manson, Charles Ardai, and Connie Willis. Williams co-founded the Dell Magazines Award for undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy in 1992 and continues to administer the award.

SFWA President Cat Rambo has noted, “Two of the most influential editors of our time, both Dozois and Williams have shaped our field through encouraging, growing, and spreading word of new voices. Honoring them for their contribution to our community seemed like a great use of the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award.”

The Nebula Awards® will be presented during the annual SFWA Nebula Conference, which will run from May 17th-20th and feature seminars and panel discussions on the craft and business of writing, SFWA’s annual business meeting, and receptions. On May 20th, a mass autograph session will take place at the Pittsburgh Marriott Downtown and is open to the public.

The Nebula Awards® recognize the best works of science fiction and fantasy published in the United States as selected by members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, membership in which is open to professional science fiction and fantasy authors. The first Nebula Awards® were presented in 1966.

In addition to the Nebula Awards®, SFWA will present the Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, the Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book, the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award, the Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award, and the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award.

“Data Guy” at Nebula Conference

SFWA is pleased to announce that the Author Earnings “Data Guy” will be presenting an overview of the US SF/F sales landscape at this year’s Nebula Conference.

Conference membership rates go up tomorrow!

Hello everyone!

The 2018 Nebula Conference will be held May 17th to May 20th in Pittsburgh, PA.

Conference membership rates go up tomorrow!

The current rate is $160 for Conference Registration only (NO BANQUET TICKET)

or $240 for Conference Registration AND a Banquet Ticket. 

Register at:

Host Hotel information:
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
(412) 417 – 4000
Standard King/Double: $164.00+taxes

The room block IS open: You can find the link on the eventbrite page above. Please do read the instructions for room reservations before making yours, to be sure you are able to request the right number of beds, which floors, etc…

If you don’t mind the possibility of a little late night noise and wish to be near the SFWA Hospitality Suite, please request for your room to be on the 9th or 10th floor. (If you attended last year, I am happy to report to you that we will be moving the suite to a larger space.) Having conference attendees on the 9th and 10th floor will help us avoid noise complaints.

If you have any difficulties with your room reservation, INCLUDING if the reservation system tells you that the room block is full or that rooms are not available on the nights you requested, email Steven H Silver at (The room block IS NOT full yet, but last year, we ran into some issues with the Marriott Reservation system telling people it was, when it wasn’t. If that happens, let us know so we can help.)

2018 SFWA Nebula Conference dates and location announced

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s 52nd Annual Nebula Conference will again be held in Pittsburgh, PA in 2018!

When: Thursday, May 17, 2018 – Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 4:00 PM (EDT)

Where: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center – 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Special Early Registration $160.00 +$8.99 fee. Price goes up on November 15.



Nebula Award Recipients Announced

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. has announced the recipients of the Nebula Awards®® for works published in 2016.

The Nebula Awards® are voted on and presented by the active members of SFWA for outstanding science fiction and fantasy.

Winner: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)

Winner: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)

Winner: ‘‘The Long Fall Up’’ by William Ledbetter (F&SF 5-6/16)

Short Story
Winner: ‘‘Seasons of Glass and Iron’’ by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
Winner: Arrival, Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
Winner: Arabella of Mars by David D. Levine (Tor)

Additional awards presented:

SOLSTICE AWARD: Peggy Rae Sapienza (Posthumous), Toni Weisskopf

May 20, 2017

Online registration closed.

Tickets for the conference will be available at the door.

Full conference (Thursday – Sunday) – $240.
One Day rates – $65 for Thursday or Sunday only; $85 for Friday or Saturday

Banquet tickets are sold out.

Last day to register online!

Today, May 12, is the last day to register for the Nebula Conference online and to sign up for the Nebula Awards® Banquet. Registration for the conference will be available at the door, but no banquet tickets will be sold after today.