Nebula Award News

“Data Guy” at Nebula Conference

SFWA is pleased to announce that the Author Earnings “Data Guy” will be presenting an overview of the US SF/F sales landscape at this year’s Nebula Conference.

Conference membership rates go up tomorrow!

Hello everyone!

The 2018 Nebula Conference will be held May 17th to May 20th in Pittsburgh, PA.

Conference membership rates go up tomorrow!

The current rate is $160 for Conference Registration only (NO BANQUET TICKET)

or $240 for Conference Registration AND a Banquet Ticket. 

Register at:

Host Hotel information:
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
(412) 417 – 4000
Standard King/Double: $164.00+taxes

The room block IS open: You can find the link on the eventbrite page above. Please do read the instructions for room reservations before making yours, to be sure you are able to request the right number of beds, which floors, etc…

If you don’t mind the possibility of a little late night noise and wish to be near the SFWA Hospitality Suite, please request for your room to be on the 9th or 10th floor. (If you attended last year, I am happy to report to you that we will be moving the suite to a larger space.) Having conference attendees on the 9th and 10th floor will help us avoid noise complaints.

If you have any difficulties with your room reservation, INCLUDING if the reservation system tells you that the room block is full or that rooms are not available on the nights you requested, email Steven H Silver at (The room block IS NOT full yet, but last year, we ran into some issues with the Marriott Reservation system telling people it was, when it wasn’t. If that happens, let us know so we can help.)

2018 SFWA Nebula Conference dates and location announced

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s 52nd Annual Nebula Conference will again be held in Pittsburgh, PA in 2018!

When: Thursday, May 17, 2018 – Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 4:00 PM (EDT)

Where: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center – 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Special Early Registration $160.00 +$8.99 fee. Price goes up on November 15.



Nebula Award Recipients Announced

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. has announced the recipients of the Nebula Awards®® for works published in 2016.

The Nebula Awards® are voted on and presented by the active members of SFWA for outstanding science fiction and fantasy.

Winner: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)

Winner: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)

Winner: ‘‘The Long Fall Up’’ by William Ledbetter (F&SF 5-6/16)

Short Story
Winner: ‘‘Seasons of Glass and Iron’’ by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
Winner: Arrival, Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
Winner: Arabella of Mars by David D. Levine (Tor)

Additional awards presented:

SOLSTICE AWARD: Peggy Rae Sapienza (Posthumous), Toni Weisskopf

May 20, 2017

Online registration closed.

Tickets for the conference will be available at the door.

Full conference (Thursday – Sunday) – $240.
One Day rates – $65 for Thursday or Sunday only; $85 for Friday or Saturday

Banquet tickets are sold out.

Last day to register online!

Today, May 12, is the last day to register for the Nebula Conference online and to sign up for the Nebula Awards® Banquet. Registration for the conference will be available at the door, but no banquet tickets will be sold after today.

May 12 last day to purchase banquet tickets

Just a reminder: May 12 is the last day to buy banquet tickets. Banquet tickets will NOT be available at the conference. They must be purchased in advance. Please purchase your banquet ticket today!

Purchase Banquet Tickets

IMPORTANT NOTE: The banquet is not included with your conference membership. You MUST purchase an additional ticket in order to attend the banquet.

For conference attendees who wish to attend the awards ceremony without purchasing a banquet ticket, a limited amount of seating will be available on a first come, first serve basis in the rear of the ballroom. We will open that seating up after the banquet, shortly before the awards ceremony begins.