Lois McMaster Bujold Named SFWA Damon Knight Grand Master

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA, Inc.) is pleased to announce that Lois McMaster Bujold has been named the 36th Damon Knight Grand Master for her contributions to the literature of Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Lois McMaster Bujold was born in 1949, the daughter of an engineering professor at Ohio State University, from whom she picked up her early interest in science fiction. She now lives in Minneapolis, and has two grown children. Her fantasy from HarperCollins includes the award-winning Chalion series and the Sharing Knife tetralogy; her science fiction from Baen Books features the perennially bestselling Vorkosigan Saga. Her work has been translated into over twenty languages and has won seven Hugo Awards and three Nebula Awards.


Bujold 2005 credit to Carol Collins
Credit to Carol Collins

Lois McMaster Bujold has had an undeniable influence on the field of science- fiction and fantasy. From the the Vorkosigan Saga, to the Chalion series and the Sharing Knife series, she finds new ways to explore the genre, mixing and matching everything from regency to science fiction. With dozens of books in multiple languages, while continuing to write, she is one of the most prolific authors working today. Importantly, she also serves as a role model for many writers, including me. In A Civil Campaign, she wrote, “Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself.” There is no doubt about Lois McMaster Bujold’s honor and becoming SFWA’s newest Grand Master only underlines her sterling reputation.”

The Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award will be presented along with the Nebula Awards® during the annual SFWA Nebula Conference, which will run from May 28th-31st and features seminars and panel discussions on the craft and business of writing, SFWA’s annual business meeting, and receptions. During that weekend, a mass autograph session will also take place at the Warner Center Marriott Woodland Hills and is open to the public.

The Nebula Awards®, presented annually, recognize the best works of science fiction and fantasy published in the United States as selected by members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. The first Nebula Awards® were presented in 1966.

The Nebula Awards® include four fiction awards, a game writing award, the Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, the Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book. SFWA also administers the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award, the Kevin O’Donnell Jr. Service to SFWA Award, and the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award.

For more information, please email pr@sfwa.org.

10 Responses to “Lois McMaster Bujold Named SFWA Damon Knight Grand Master”

  1. Leland R. Erickson

    Speaking as an unapologetic Vorkosigan saga fan, well it’s about damn time, people!!! 😆👍👏

  2. Gregory Petrolati

    Congratulations Lois! So glad to call my self a fan of yours. I love your characters.., at times they feel like family! Thank you for sharing your storytelling gift with the rest of us.

  3. Denise Evans

    Her work delights me, from the sterling world building, to the intricately detailed complex characters, to sentences that astonish me with their power. So glad that she has gathered yet another honour for her collection. I have recommended her books to many clients to teach them that overcoming adversity triumphantly is possible.

  4. S. R. Janssen

    As an avid Science Fiction reader, it surprises me that it took me so long to discover Lois McMaster Bujold. I am never tired of rereading her books. Not only is the writing outstanding, but her exploration of ideas and her creation of cultures and their mythologies are unmatched. Well deserved.


    Speaking as an unapologetic World of the Five Gods fan, it’s about time, people!!!

  6. Diane Morrison

    Hell yeah! I’m such a huge fan, and I agree completely! Well overdue and deserved! Congratulations!

  7. Rose Momsen

    Wonderful, stunning news. My favorite author of all time. Lovely to see her honored in her lifetime! Good work.

  8. Edwina Mitchell

    I loved the Vorkosigan saga and still have the original hard cover book in my library. She is one of my favorite authors. Congratulations from a loyal fan. Well deserved.

  9. Janet Lunde

    Congratulations! So well deserved!

  10. Justin Semmel

    Lois, you’re work is brilliant and has improved my sense and understanding of humanism and humanity. This award is truly justified and I praise the SFWA for issuing it.

Comments are closed.