SFWA’s Nebula Awards® Ceremony in Virtual Reality from Oculus This Saturday

For Immediate Release

May 29, 2020

For More Information

Kevin Lampe (312) 617-7280

kevin@kurthlampe.com

BREAKING NEWS 

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s (SFWA) 2020 Nebula Awards Ceremony will be available in Virtual Reality (VR) for the first time this Saturday, May 30, 2020, at 5 PM PDT/8 PM EDT/midnight UTC. SFWA will welcome their newest Grand Master, Lois McMaster Bujold, and reveal the winners of this year’s Nebula Awards.

“We are excited about exploring VR Events with Oculus and look forward to what the future holds,” said Mary Robinette Kowal, SFWA President.

Please visit https://www.oculus.com/experiences/event/628499264406152/ for details about viewing the ceremony in VR.

About the Nebulas

The Nebula Awards® are voted on, and presented by, full members of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. Founded as the Science Fiction Writers of America in 1965 by Damon Knight, the organization began with a charter membership of 78 writers; it now has more than 2000 members, among them many of the leading writers of science fiction and fantasy.

Since 1965, the Nebula Awards® have been given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year’s award. The Ray Bradbury Nebula Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation was added in 2000, followed by the Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction in 2005, and the Nebula Award for Best Game Writing in 2018. An anthology including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up is also published every year.

Leave a Reply